Taverns in Town #13: The Hour Glass, Brompton Road SW3

As I made my way to my next Tavern in Town, I found myself drifting in to one of the flashiest shopping districts that London has to offer. I passed by Stella McCartney, Chanel and the famous Bibendum restaurant. Some locals were dressed in clothes and shoes worth more than I earn in a year.

One girl in particular was of interest to a passing motorist named Oleg (I gleaned his name from the OLEG1 number plate on his sports car). He stopped to chat her up, switching between English and Russian with ease.

I was now entering oligarch country.

But I digress, I was here to visit The Hour Glass. Known locally as “The Wedge”, this was a micro pub before they even existed.

Taverns in Town describes the 1970s customer:

“Just around the corner from the pub is an open-air fruit and vegetable market…conducted by a deeply entrenched body of ordinary London trades-people. As a reminder however of the multifariousness of London’s populace, also around the corner from The Hour Glass, in another direction, lies a highly fashionable residential sector, centred around Egerton Gardens.”

It would be fair to say that the ordinary London trades-people were priced out long ago. And most would have winced at the £4.85 I paid for my pint of Portobello London Pilsner (the only ale on was London Pride).

As depicted in Taverns in Town, as it is today, a stool and coat hooks!

As depicted in Taverns in Town, as it is today, a stool and coat hooks!

The pub could squeeze in about forty people at a push, but when I visited there were less than a dozen drinking. This made for a gentile hour sat reading the paper and taking in the conversation at the bar.

While I sat at my table, there was a decent turnover of customers and the barman was kept pretty busy. It seems like a popular local.

There is nothing ancient or of historical note, but the pub is worth a visit just to enjoy the quirky building. And it’s nice place to spend a little time escaping the madness of the world outside.

Leave a Reply

